The Championship
Drivers & Cars
What is Pro Mod?
Rounds & Points
Race Reports / TV Shows
Photo Gallery
Contact Details
santa pod
MSA British Drag Racing Championship

Championship Rounds Race Reports

Round 3:  Santa Pod Raceway – The Summer Nationals - 24th – 25th June 2017

WebTV Show


Rain delays and Andy Bond’s Street Eliminator crash conspired to end the Summer Nationals prematurely as Kevin Slyfield and Marco Maurischat were readying to contest the Pro Modified final. The German, a model of 6.2/6.3sec consistency throughout the weekend, had despatched Jean Dulamon and championship leader Andy Robinson to reach that point while Slyfield had accounted for second-placed Bobby Wallace and Mick Payne.

Summer Nationals Summer Nationals Summer Nationals

Maurischat had missed Easter’s MSA Rnd.1 so is unlikely to challenge for the championship but Slyfield is in the thick of a title tussle with Robinson and Wallace. The event’s key match was Slyfield’s opening-round defeat of Wallace, which lifted the Dorset racer into second place in the points above the young Bedfordshire challenger. Victory over Maurischat would have given Slyfield a slender lead; as it stands, he lags behind leader Robinson by a single point.

Summer Nationals Summer Nationals Summer Nationals

Having delivered Low ET of the Meet (6.178) to beat Wallace, Slyfield barely survived a second-round, 7-second squeaker against unheralded Mick Payne (“We’re usually at home unpacking by now,” quipped the Kent racer). Payne had pipped Wayne Nicholson to the bump spot in Saturday’s last qualifying session and was probably expecting instant round-one dismissal against low qualifier Marck Harteveld. Instead, Payne soloed through to round two after the Dutch team had lost oil pressure in the pre-race warm-up and withdrawn rather than risk engine damage. Payne did indeed lose to Slyfield, but it was a close-run thing.

Summer Nationals Summer Nationals Summer Nationals

The second half of this intriguing championship series begins next month with the Mopar Euro Nationals (28th-30th July) and there are hints of a new entry or two venturing on to the scene.



Po. Driver Country Time Speed Best MPH
1 Marck Harteveld                        NED 6.179 231.66   
2 Andy Robinson                        GBR 6.185  237.45   
3 Marco Maurischat                       DEU 6.272 230.09  
4 Bobby Wallace                          GBR 6.314 214.08  
5 Kevin Slyfield                            GBR 6.507 222.25  
6 Jean Dulamon                         FRA  6.717  216.13  
7 Andy Wright                           GBR  7.288   183.62  
8 Mick Payne GBR 7.479 186.63 192.95
  Wayne Nicholson GBR 7.653  203.48  
Withdrawn entries:
  Jon Webster   GBR      

Round 1:
Kev Slyfield 6.178, 228.16 def. Bobby Wallace 6.350, 216.99
Marco Maurischat 6.306, 228.90 def. Jean Dulamon 6.927, 194.70
Andy Robinson 6.636, 185.07 def. Andy Wright 7.391, 198.12
Mick Payne 13.345, 59.66 def. Marck Harteveld no show

Kev Slyfield 7.103, 177.84 def. Mick Payne 7.130, 175.08
Marco Maurischat 6.256, 226.73 def. Andy Robinson 13.492, 67.81 DQ R/L

Meeting abandoned

Low Elapsed Time of the Event:  6.178sec. – Kevin Slyfield (E1)
Top Speed of the Event:  237.45mph – Andy Robinson (Q1)

Personal-best performances set during event:

                                            ET           MPH
Marck Harteveld                      -       231.66

The 2017 points table is on the Rounds & Points page.